26 March 2020

Will Britain awarded Fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers

I am very proud to announce my recent Fellowship award from the Institution of Civil Engineers (FICE). I would particularly like to thank my sponsors Paul McMahon, C.Eng., FICE (Leader Civil Engineering, University of Bolton) and David Wilde C.Eng., FICE (Chairman on Wilde Consultants Ltd (WCL)) and Philip Isgar C.Eng., FICE. (Director Sunbeam Management Solutions) I am indebted to all my colleagues in the highways sector who I have worked with over many years. It is a pleasure to work in this industry which I believe make incredible things happen. We are lucky to have the DfT who fully support the industry and the Transport Ministers and to have Steve Berry OBE who is visionary and incredibly passionate and fully supportive of all the achievements and innovations in the highways sector.

My FICE application was attributable to the work in road asset management and being able to bring about real change, but more importantly being able to share and collaborate to disseminate this to other councils. Apart from my ‘day job’ my other attribute was for LCRIG and I am extremely grateful for my support team at LCRIG, particularly Susanne Ingham who is working alongside me at LCRIG which is now self-sustainable and now has over 50 local council highway authorities as members and numerous Association members and Partner members.

“This award is well deserved recognition of the exceptional work you are doing to make a difference not only to the residents and businesses in Blackpool but for the wider sector. Also all credit to the whole team at Blackpool for the support they provide.

Will, your experience, drive and passion is really making a difference and my congratulations to you. It also shows that your vision and what LCRIG is achieving (with the excellent help of Susanne, Charlotte and Georgia) is really making a difference.

With very best wishes”

Steve Berry  | Head, Highways Maintenance, Innovation, Resilience, Light Rail and Cableways Branch, Department for Transport